Serving N’West Iowa since 1972

Let's Take 5

Take 5 is a new segment we are trying out. Essentially, Take 5 is going to be online-only feature that allows our creative team to cut loose and showcase their writing chops and digital talents. A new Take 5 post will appear at 3 p.m., Monday-Fridays on the site and be shared on our social media platforms as well.

So sit back, relax and Take 5 with us!

Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019

I grew up in West River South Dakota — barely. My family's ranch is just 30 miles west of the Missouri River, which pretty much cuts the state in half. It's a ranch — not a farm. Just a tip to anyone who decides to visit West River (which is … Read more

Thursday, February 07, 2019
Wednesday, February 06, 2019
Tuesday, February 05, 2019

A friend of mine, who is actually a fan of another National Football League team and only likes Tom Brady because of the college team he played for, posed a question on social media after the Super Bowl on Sunday that struck a nerve with me. Read more

Monday, February 04, 2019
Friday, February 01, 2019