The end of the fall season is time to give out the honors to the athletes that made that year memorable.

The Iowa Girls Coaches Association has released its all-state volleyball lists for 2021.

In Class 3A, Unity Christian junior Gracie Schoonhoven was an all-state first-team selection. Sheldon senior Payten Lode was on the all-state second team. Sioux Center junior Reagan Jansen was on the third team. Sheldon junior Claire Johnson made the honorable mention list.

Leading the list of Class 2A honorees from N’West Iowa was Western Christian junior Stella Winterfeld, an all-state first-team selection. Boyden-Hull senior Marissa Pottebaum and Western Christian senior Jaylin Van Dyken each made the second team. Western Christian junior Abby VerBurg and Boyden-Hull senior Jewel Bergstrom were on the third team.

In Class 1A, Gehlen Catholic junior Cadence Goebel was on the second team list. Jays senior Lauren Heying was on the third team. Gehlen Catholic junior Miyah Whitehead received honorable mention.

In football, the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association came out with its all-state lists. Again, N’West Iowa was well-represented.

Leading the way was Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley senior Landyn Van Kekerix, who was named the Class 3A Player of the Year after leading the Nighthawks to a runner-up finish in the state playoffs.

Van Kekerix was on the all-state first team as a running back in Class 3A. Nighthawks senior Tanner Te Slaa made the first team as a punter.

The second team featured Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley senior wide receiver Caleb Kats, Sioux Center senior offensive lineman Ethan Hooyer, Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley senior offensive lineman Brevyn Kramer, Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley senior linebacker Casey Pick and MOC-Floyd Valley senior punter Luke Jeltema.

Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley senior offensive lineman Bryan Zylstra, Sioux Center senior kicker Miguel Gonzalez, Sioux Center junior defensive lineman Dominic Mora and MOC-Floyd Valley senior defensive lineman Josiah Bundt were on the third team.

In Class 2A, state runner-up West Lyon had two senior offensive linemen make the all-state first-team in Easton Fleshman and Joshua Kooi. They were joined by Central Lyon/George-Little Rock senior offensive lineman Lyle Moore. Central Lyon/George-Little Rock junior quarterback Zach Lutmer was on the first team as an offensive utility player. West Lyon senior Gabe Ter Wee made the first team on the defensive line. Wildcats senior linebacker Dawson Ripperda made it as a linebacker and his senior teammate Jaxon Meyer was on the list as a defensive back.

On the second team were Central Lyon/George-Little Rock senior linebacker Rex Van Wyhe and Lions senior defensive back Cooper Spiess.

West Lyon senior defensive back Hunter Jacobson and Central Lyon/George-Little Rock sophomore defensive back Graham Eben were on the third team.

State runner-up West Sioux had its share of representation in Class 1A.

On the 1A first-team list were West Sioux junior wide receiver Brady Lynott, West Sioux senior offensive lineman Mario Duenas, Falcons junior quarterback Dylan Wiggins, who was named to the team as a utility player, and West Sioux senior defensively back Blake Van Ballegooyen.

On the second team were West Sioux junior running back Carter Bultman, West Sioux senior wide receiver Aaden Schwiesow and West Sioux senior defensive back Levi Koopmans.

Western Christian senior tight end Kyson Van Vugt made the third team as did Wolfpack junior linebacker Shane Habben.

Class A all-state first team selections from the region were: Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn senior running back Connor Dodd, Hawks junior offensive lineman Lance Berends, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn junior defensive back Kooper Ebel and Gehlen Catholic junior kick returner Keaten Bonderson. Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn junior linebacker Travis Kamradt was on the second team.