Former Western Christian High School teammates Kayla Gesink and Brooke Wolterstorff are on the same team again.

This time, that team is the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union Hall of Fame.

The duo was in a Hall of Fame class that was inducted just before the Class 2A state championship match Thursday, Nov. 4.

Gesink graduated from Western Christian in 2011 and Wolterstorff in 2012.

They went on to become teammates at Dordt College as well.

Gesink was the Class 2A Player of the Year in Iowa in 2011. Wolterstorff was a three-time elite all-state selection and was the Class 2A Co-Player of the Year in 2012.

There are 71 former Iowa high school athletes in the IGHSAU volleyball Hall of Fame.

Of those, 11 are from N’West Iowa, but all of those members are from just two schools. Seven former Western Christian players and four former Unity Christian players have earned the honor.

Another Hall of Famer

Another N’West Iowan is going into a different volleyball hall of fame today (Saturday, Nov. 13).

Leeanne McMillen, who coached at George High School and at MOC-Floyd Valley High School, will be inducted into the Iowa Girls Coaches Association Volleyball Hall of Fame during the IGCA Senior All-Star Weekend.

McMillen coached at George 1982-88. She was at MOC-Floyd Valley 1988-2009. During her 27 years as a high school head coach, she posted a 519-247-25 record.

She was The N’West Iowa REVIEW Coach of the Year in 1985. She coached senior all-star teams for the IGCA in 1987 and 2000.

McMillen also served on the senior all-star team selection committee, the all-state team committee and the all-state tournament team selection committee.

She started the Dutch Aces Volleyball Club. After retiring from high school coaching, McMillen served as an assistant coach at Northwestern College, retiring from that after the 2021 spring season. She was the American Volleyball Coaches Association Regional Assistant Coach of the Year in 2018.

N’West Iowa will be represented on the court and on the bench in the 2021 IGCA Senior All-Star Classic, which will be held in Johnston. Marissa Pottebaum of Boyden-Hull and Payten Lode of Sheldon were selected to play. Sheldon’s Heather Keizer will be one of the coaches.

More to Hall of Fame

The Iowa High School Athletic Association will be formally inducting its 2020 and 2021 Football Hall of Fame classes on Friday, Nov. 19.

The 2020 class was announced last year, but ceremonies were canceled due to COVID-19 protocols. Those five selections will be formally introduced at halftime of the Class 3A championship game, which is set for a 1 p.m. kickoff. The 2021 class will have its ceremony at halftime of the Class 5A state championship game, which is scheduled to kick off at 7 p.m.

Two former N’West Iowa standouts, Mike Klinkenborg of Central Lyon and Darin Naatjes of West Lyon, are a part of the 2020 class.

Klinkenborg was a three-year starter who played every snap over that time and led his team to three playoff appearances. In his senior year in 2002, he was an elite all-state selection. He finished his career with 417 tackles. He went on to play for the University of Iowa, where he was a four-time letter winner and a two-year starter.

Naatjes was a four-year starter for West Lyon. He helped his team earn state runner-up honors in 1995 and to a Class 2A state championship in 1998. He won five state titles in track and field and played basketball and baseball. He went on to play football and baseball at Stanford University, then played in the minor leagues for the Philadelphia Phillies for four seasons.

The IHSAA began honoring the on and off-field accomplishments of Iowa’s greatest high school football players back in 1980.

Players are nominated by member schools, then presented to a committee made up of Hall of Fame coaches, then taken to the IHSAA’s Board of Control.

Coaching honor for Lems

Western Christian High School coach Dalton Lems has been honored by the Iowa Association of Track Coaches for his work with the Wolfpack boys team this year. The IATC names a state coach of the year and five at-large coaches of the year in each class. Lems was one of the at-large selections in Class 2A boys competition. He led the Wolfpack to a third-place finish in the state meet.

Dordt runners set record

The Dordt University men’s cross country team has set a pair of records that will never be broken in recent competitions.

The Defenders posted a perfect score in winning the Mount Marty University Invitational on Sept. 23. Dordt had the top seven individual finishers in the Yankton, SD, meet. The top five finishers count in the team score.

Dordt then repeated the feat at the Great Plains Athletic Conference Championships on Nov. 6. The Defenders became the first team in conference history to post a perfect score of 15 in the league championship meet. Dordt had the top six finishers in the GPAC meet, which was held at Landsmeer Golf Club in Orange City.

More records for Wolfpack

Western Christian High School extended its state records with its 21st straight state volleyball tournament appearance and its 39th trip overall.

Its win on Nov. 2 put it in the semifinals for the 21st straight season. For perspective on that, the second best streak of that time is 11 by Dike-New Hartford. Coach Tammi Veerbeek has led each of those squads. The next longest streak of consecutive semifinals by a coach is nine by Barb Bakker of Dike.

Western Christian’s first state tournament appearance was in 1975. Its first championship came in 1989. Since then, it has finished in the top four 28 times.

The Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union has sponsored a state volleyball tournament for 51 years. Only 12 times has there been a state tournament held without Western Christian being in the field.

Academic volleyball stars

The Iowa Girls Coaches Association has announced its academic all-state volleyball team for 2021. Among the members are Jori Harskamp, Ayden Den Herder and Ella Jahn of Sioux Center High School, Brianna Cannoy of Sheldon and Brooklyn Meyer of West Lyon. Members of the team must be seniors and carry a grade-point average of 3.75 or better and have an ACT composite score of 27 or better.

Golf honor for Rokusek

Sheldon Golf & Country Club’s Jeff Rokusek has been named the 9-Hole Course Superintendent of the Year by the Iowa Golf Association.

The Iowa Golf Association hands out its annual awards in six categories. The other winners for 2021 were: 18-hole Superintendent of the Year — Matt Reifert, Whispering Creek Golf Club in Sioux City; 9-Hole Course of the Year — Dyersville Golf & County Club; 18-hole Course of the Year — BVU Golf Course at Lake Creek in Storm Lake; PGA Pro of the Year — Mark Egly, Des Moines Driving Range; and Club Manager of the Year — Lance Marting, Dubuque Golf & Country Club.

The awards will be presented at the annual Iowa Golf Association Banquet scheduled for Friday, Dec. 17, at Glen Oaks Country Club in West Des Moines.