Krahling, Vander Berg, Moerman elected

Sioux Center residents voted in Dave Krahling as mayor and Dale Vander Berg and Eric Moerman to city council.

SIOUX CENTER—Dale Vander Berg will be a new face on the Sioux Center City Council starting in January 2020.

Vander Berg and incumbent Eric Moerman received the top votes out of the three running for the two council seats.

The unofficial election results posted by the Sioux County Auditor’s office list Vander Berg receiving the most votes of the three running at 661, or 46,61 percent; Moerman received 407 votes, or 28.70 percent; and Cary Banstra received 345 votes, or 24.33 percent.

Moerman has been a city council member since 2016, when he was voted into the seat left vacant after David Krahling opted not to run again for city council.

Vander Berg will replace city council member Verlyn Rozeboom, who chose not to run again. Rozeboom has been a city council member since 2008.

Krahling will retain his seat as Sioux Center’s mayor. He has been serving as city mayor since June after he was appointed by the council to fill the seat after the death of former mayor Dennis Walstra.

Krahling, who was the only name on the ballot, received 735 of the 741 votes, or 99.19 percent.

School board

Incumbents Tim Gesink and Scott Te Stroete ran unopposed for their school board seats and were re-elected once again.

Gesink received 732 votes, or 50.87 percent, and Te Stroete received 702 votes, or 48.78 percent.

Gesink, who is school board president, has served on the board 12 years. TeStroete has served on the board for about six years.

Public measure E

Public measure E for the Sioux Center Community School District also passed with 707 “yes” votes, or 93.89 percent.