Election 2020

REGIONAL—Candidates for state and federal offices in Iowa this year have filed their paperwork.

The candidate filing period for those offices for the June 2 primary and Nov. 3 general elections began Feb. 24 and ended March 13.

Only candidates from the Democratic and Republican parties filed for the primary election. These candidates will not be eligible for the general election until after the primary election.

General election candidates who are unaffiliated or members of nonparty political organizations, with the exception of those running for president, were required to file by March 13.

State and federal candidates filed their nominating petitions and affidavits of candidacy with the Iowa Secretary of State’s Office in Des Moines.

The Republican candidates who filed their paperwork for Iowa’s 39-county 4th Congressional District are:

  • Incumbent U.S. Rep. Steve King (R-Iowa) of Kiron.
  • State Sen. Randy Feenstra (R-Hull).
  • Steve Reeder of Arnolds Park.
  • Bret Richards of Irwin.
  • Jeremy Taylor of Sioux City.

Democratic candidate J.D. Scholten of Sioux City, who came within 3 percentage points of upsetting King in the 2018 general election, also has entered the 2020 race.

King has held the congressional position since 2003.

The seat of incumbent U.S. Sen. Joni Ernst (R-Iowa) of Des Moines also is up for election. She is running again for the position.

Five Democratic challengers will compete for the right to face Ernst, the only Republican candidate:

  • Sioux Center native Mich­ael Franken of Sioux City.
  • Kimberly Graham of Indianola.
  • Theresa Greenfield of Des Moines.
  • Eddie Mauro of Des Moines.
  • Cal Woods of Des Moines.

Two other challengers for Ernst’s seat are Libertarian candidate Rick Stewart of Cedar Rapids and Suzanne Herzog of West Des Moines, who was listed with no party affiliation.

At the state level in N’West Iowa, the Districts 1, 3 and 4 seats in the House of Representatives are up for election this year.

Incumbent Rep. John Wills (R-Spirit Lake) has filed for re-election in House District 1; no other candidates filed for the seat.

House District 1 covers Lyon and Osceola counties and northern and central Dickinson County.

For House District 3, longtime incumbent Rep. Dan Huse­­man (R-Aurelia) an­­nounced he will retire from the seat and not run for re-election.

Republicans Dennis Bush of Cleghorn, Lynn Evans of Aurelia and Mark McHugh of Sheldon have filed for the position.

House District 3 covers Cherokee and O’Brien counties and eastern portions of Plymouth and Sioux counties.

Incumbent Rep. Skyler Wheeler (R-Orange City) filed for re-election in House District 4.

Björn Johnson of Ireton has filed for the position as a Democratic candidate.

House District 4 covers most of Sioux County except for a portion of its eastern end.

Feenstra is the Iowa Senate District 2 longtime incumbent; however, he is vacating the seat to run for King’s position in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Senate District 2 covers Cher­­okee, O’Brien and Sioux counties and the far-eastern portion of Plymouth County.

Republican candidate Jeff Taylor of Sioux Center was the only person to file for the Senate seat.

For more information on the 2020 elections, visit the secretary of state’s website at sos.iowa.gov.