O’Brien County Economic Development logo

PRIMGHAR—The O’Brien County Value-Added Agriculture Steering Committee has opened nominations to its 2022 Agriculture Hall of Fame until June 17.

The committee established its annual Agriculture Hall of Fame Awards in 2001 to recognize outstanding citizens who make significant contributions to the agricultural community of O’Brien County and to encourage participation in the ag sector.

In 2016, nominations were opened to businesses that make a difference in the O’Brien County ag community.

Any person/business residing in O’Brien County or engaging in ag-related activity in the county is eligible for this award.

The successful candidate must have demonstrated leadership, stewardship, community service and service to the agricultural industry.

Nomination forms are available at O’Brien County Economic Development in Primghar or the O’Brien County Farm Bureau office in Primghar and on the website www.obriencounty.com.

The Agriculture Hall of Fame Award winner will be announced at the O’Brien County Fair just before the fair king and queen coronation ceremony on Monday, July 25.

The O’Brien County Value-Added Ag Steering Committee was formed in 1998 when the O’Brien County Economic Development Corporation identified the need for a coordinated effort to promote value-added agriculture.

The committee consists of a diverse group of producers, community and agribusiness leaders that will search out and assist with the establishment of value-added agriculture to create economic opportunities for residents and to develop marketable products using ag resources in a manner consistent with the committee’s quality-of-life statement.

For more information on O’Brien County Agriculture Hall of Fame Nominations, contact O’Brien County Economic Development director Kiana Johnson at 712-957-1313 or e-mail ocedc@tcaexpress.net.